Women leaders in science, business and society will come together at the International Fall Gathering 2023

The second edition of the International Fall Gathering took place on 7-10 November 2023 in Berlin as part of the Falling Walls Science Summit. This event is especially created for our Intensive Track Champions 2023, together with high-level roles models, special guests and partners.

This year, our flagship event put a spotlight on Gender Parity and Diversity as Accelerators for Social Progress and took place on 7 November at Palais Populaire, with the support of the Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft.

On the evening of 7 November, we hosted the very first ceremony for the Women Breakthrough Award 2023, a joined initiative of Female Science Talents and the Elsevier Foundation. On this occasion, we honoured four international award winners who conduct visionary research while contributing to gender equality and diversity in science.

The full programme of the event is available here.

On 8 November, we invited our Intensive Track Champions, Zia fellows and other researchers to a Female Science Talents Meet-Up with Siemens at Radialsystem. In an intimate setting, early career talents and distinguished guests had the invaluable opportunity to network and gain insights into the workings of a leading tech-driven company.

Find out more information about the event here.

We thank all our participants, speakers, guests and partners for a very successful International Fall Gathering 2023.

Programme Overview

7 November 2023, 9:00 am – 9:00 pm

  • Keynote Speech – Asmeret Asefaw Berhe.
  • Open Panel – “How to Lift the Potential of New (Digital) Technologies for Everyone?
    Empowering Social Innovation through Entrepreneurial Research and Bold Female Perspectives”, co-hosted by the Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft, with Isabel Skierka, Juliane Beck, Cat Allman & Serena Giardino (moderation).
  • Impulse Speech – Mirit Edlor.
  • Open Panel – “The Relevance of International Collaboration and Female Leadership in Science Diplomacy”, with Geraldine Rauch, Rana Dajani, Kathryn Boyd & Effrosyni Chelioti.
  • Worskhop on Diversity Minimal Items Set (Part I & II) – with Clemens Striebing, Gertraud Stadler, Magdalena Geissler (facilitation) & Domiziana Francescon (moderation), in cooperation with the Fraunhofer Center for Responsible Research and Innovation (CeRRI), Charité, and the Berlin University Alliance.
  • Impulse Speeches – Alexandra-Gwyn Paetz & Vera Grossmann.

Women Breakthrough Award Ceremony & Gala Dinner:

Welcome words by Mirit Eldor & Julia Milbredt.

  • Category Innovation: Atinuke Chineme & Marwa Shumo.
  • Category Gender Mainstreaming: Sudeshna Das.
  • Category Empowerment: Simangele Shakwane.

In the presence of our distinguished Jurors Ylann Schemm, Domiziana Francescon, Rana Dajani, Imke Rajamani & Injonge Karangwa.

More Pages

Further Activities to have a look at