Universidad de la República Uruguay

Erna Frins

2024 Jury | Physical Sciences 2023 Jury | Physical Sciences 2022 Physical Sciences Jury 2022 Jury | Physical Sciences Breakthrough Day Physical Sciences

Jury: Physical Sciences

Erna Frins is a professor of physics at the Universidad de la República Uruguay. She received her diploma in physics from TU Berlin in 1992 and her PhD in physics from Wolfgang Goethe University, Germany, in 1998. Frins was the 2012 laureate of the UNESCO – L’OREAL National Award for Women in Science. Between 2007 and 2011, Frins was president of the Uruguayan Physical Society and is now chair of the National Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research in Uruguay. She leads a research group in pure and applied optics. Her research is focused on developing optical methods for atmospheric remote sensing. She joined NASA’s AERONET project in 2019.

Explore more content of Falling Walls

Further Activities to have a look at